Stress

I just bought 2 more books. One was “If Life is a Game, These are the Rules” by Cherie Carter-Scott, and the other was “A Separate Peace” by John Knowles. I am now thinking of giving the first book as a gift for my brother, who will be graduating from college next month, after reading it first. The second book was an “additional reading” in school from a long time ago. I never read it but my classmates back then mentioned it was a must-read book; so I bought it after x years.

But the thing is, I still have over a dozen unread books. Yep, more then twelve. Plus a couple more that I bought “for reference.” So why do I buy books when I still have untouched ones?

Stress. It just hits me every now and then. And I have to do something about it. So I buy.
There are only two things that I but semi-impulsively: books and clothes. (Yes, I stil have clothes that I haven’t worn yet.)

I’m not exactly sure why but buying/spending gives me this rush of endorphines. I feel happy and contented when I buy. A sense that I’m in control or in power. I may not control my nagging supervisor or our incompetent manager or the hellish traffic. But at least, I feel I’m in control of my money (or that portion that can be disposed on unnecessary, unurgent things – like books and clothes.)

So there. I’m looking forward to reading them.

Just not sure when.

Leave a Reply

