Strike 4 for Indonesia

Another strong earthquake hits Indonesia according to this Yahoo! News. This time, the 6.2 magnitude quake hits central Indonesia. As of this writing, no immediate casualties and injuries have been reported yet maybe because it happened under sea southwest of Sulawesi. Perhaps later during the day. But nonetheless, it was felt by the locals near the epicenter.

I really don't know what to make of this. I'm pretty sure earthquakes happen almost all the time in various magnitudes around the Pacific ring of fire. However, I'm finding it mind-boggling, slightly bordering on ridiculous, that Indonesia seems to be a favorite target of pretty strong quakes. I'm not sure if I should be thankful that the ground doesn't shake under our foot, or if I should be extra cautious that the Philippines might be next on the list.

At any rate, I hope the damage that this recent event might not be as bad as the recent and not-so-recent ones, but if I were living there, my confidence that I would wake up with my home still standing up or that I would wake up alive and uncrushed is definitely damaged.

Technorati: , ,

Leave a Reply

