Romeo Must Die

Not the Jet Li movie. I’m referring to the convicted child rapist Romeo Jalosjos. It was bad enough that his double life sentence got commuted by Arroyo a couple of months ago. Now, there was a news stating his supposed release yesterday.

Apparently, that was supposed to be the case, according to Justice Secretary Raul Gonzalez. A document which the media got was simply part of a procedure of Jalosjos’ release. Not the actual release of the convict. In addition, Arroyo commuting his life sentence meant that he can be release upon his 70th birthday — in 2010. The whole fiasco was a case of misinterpretation and apparent misinformation care of our lovely media.

If you ask me, I think he should rot in jail until he dies. I’m sorry but I don’t think people change. How can he have paid his debt to society comfortable in a decently furnished living quarters. That’s not prison to me.

What I find more disturbing is the news saying the supposed two thousand plus residents attending a thanksgiving mass in anticipation of rumored return of Jalosjos. My goodness. What kind of a voting constituent does our country really has?

Leave a Reply

